jump to navigation

Heart of A Keys November 10, 2007

Posted by dareevan in .Guest Author, People, Person.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Yoseph Ade Setiawan

Anyone ever heard about Alicia Keys? born in 1980, a multi talented Singer, song writer who have won numerous awards, including nine Grammy Awards, eleven Billboard Music Awards, and three American Music Awards.
Besides being a musician, Keys is also an active philanthropist. She is a spokeswoman for Keep a Child Alive, a non-profit organization that provides life-saving AIDS medicines directly to children and families with HIV/AIDS in Africa.

I knew that when the first time I see her in the MTV, I’m gonna be her fans. I like her music and she is pretty off course—bring delightment to my eyes. But more than that, I draw to her more because of her attitude and character when singing. The first time I saw her singing while playing piano, I know she is an extraordinary person.

Below is a part of her interview with reader’s digest:

RD(Reader’s Digest): You’ve won nine Grammys. When they started coming, did you feel that maybe you didn’t deserve to win?
Keys(Alicia Keys): It’s very surreal. But then I remembered this quote about how shrinking from the light doesn’t serve the world, that you serve by showing the world that we do deserve to be beautiful and proud and tall and all the great things that can come our way.

My comment: Well,… what an answer. It leaves me with a minute of pondering and thinking. Deep answer….

RD: You’re involved in a couple of charities. Tell us about why that work is important to you.
Keys: I went to South Africa in 2002 for MTV’s World AIDS Day broadcast. I went to medical clinics and there were all these kids, a little younger than me, like 14, living with AIDS. That blew my mind.
One woman came up to me and said, “Can you help us? We can’t get any medicine and our babies can’t live.” She was pregnant. I felt like the whole world was on my shoulders.
After that trip, I was scheduled to go to the Seychelles, which are beautiful, expensive islands off the coast of Africa. I got there and never felt so much guilt in my life. I would get these huge bills for breakfast and feel like hell. I realised at that moment I can’t just go back to New York and pretend I had never seen what I did in South Africa. So I got involved with Keep A Child Alive, which provides anti-retroviral medications for [HIV-positive] kids who would never be able to afford it in places like Africa.

RD: Do you have a message for young people?
Keys: My main thing is to be unstoppable. When you believe in yourself, there’s nothing that you can’t do. Having the vigour to say that I can dream the biggest dream and make it happen is what makes this world so great.
I look at buildings, I look at airplanes, and I’m like this was somebody’s crazy idea that a million people told them is never going to work. And it’s here now. So I believe in the power of us.

Now I became more than a fans. I admire her! She’s destined to be big. She have the talent which make her to the top, plus she have the character which will keep her there.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

